Limited Clients. Proven Results.

By limiting the number of clients we defend at any given time, our Improper Handling Firearms Lawyers are able to utilize the full resources of our Improper Handling of Firearm Law Firm for each case. This has made Stiefvater Law, LLC the “go to” law firm for the defense of Improper Handling of Firearms charges. Call Improper Handling of Firearms in a Motor Vehicle Attorney Robert Stiefvater to discuss the defense of your case. He will give you a free consultation even if his Improper Handling Firearms Law Firm is not currently accepting new clients.

If you have been charged with Improper Handling of Firearms in , contact the Improper Handling Firearms Defense Lawyers at Stiefvater Law now to discuss your options. Your charge could be a fourth degree misdemeanor, first degree misdemeanor, fifth degree felony, or fourth degree felony. A conviction of any of these is serious. The State will want to keep your firearm and CCW permit and you are facing serious jail or prison time. Call Stiefvater Law and speak with one of our Improper Handling of Firearm Attorneys now.

Depending on various facts and circumstances, the following can be considered improper handling of a firearm:

Failing to inform an officer that you have a firearm;

Being under the influence of drugs or alcohol while transporting a firearm;

Having a loaded firearm in a motor vehicle;

Improperly transporting a firearm in a vehicle; or

Discharging a firearm from a vehicle.

Contact our Improper Handling Firearms Law Firm to discuss the facts surrounding your charge for improper handling.

The following can be a statutory defense to Improper Handling of a Firearm but are very fact specific:

If you are an officer of the law;

If you are employed in Ohio and authorized to carry a firearm;

Specific hunting situations (coyote and groundhog);

Depending on ownership of the land upon which the incident occurred; or

Having a valid CCW permit.

Contact Improper Handling Firearms Defense Attorney Robert Stiefvater to discuss whether or not any of these defenses apply to your situation.

Improperly Handling of Firearms can be a Fourth Degree Misdemeanor, First Degree Misdemeanor, Fifth Degree Felony, or Fourth Degree Felony. Additionally, the State will almost always want to confiscate your firearm and your concealed carry permit (if you have one) through forfeiture. The following are some of the potential fine and jail or prison time that can result if convicted:

Fourth Degree Misdemeanor (M4) – 0-30 days in jail. Fine up to $250.

First Degree Misdemeanor (M1) – 0-180 days in jail. Fine up to $1,000.

Fifth Degree Felony (F5) – up to 12 months in prison. Fine up to $2,500.

Fourth Degree Felony (F4) – up to 18 months in prison. Fine up to $5,000.

The Improper Handling of Firearm Lawyers at Stiefvater Law have established themselves as the go to Improper Handling of Firearms in a Motor Vehicle Attorneys in . Call now and start getting results. Find out why other lawyers refer us clients. Our defense of you starts with your phone call to us.

Call the Improper Handling of Firearms in a Motor Vehicle Attorneys at Stiefvater Law to find out if we are currently taking on new clients. We are the Improper Handling of Firearm Attorneys in .

Improperly Handling Firearms in a Motor Vehicle is codified in the ORC (Ohio Revised Code) Section 2923.16. Below is one section of the law:

Penalties

(a) If a person is convicted of, was convicted of, pleads guilty to, or has pleaded guilty to a violation of division (E) of this section as it existed prior to September 30, 2011, and if the conduct that was the basis of the violation no longer would be a violation of division (E) of this section on or after September 30, 2011, the person may file an application under section 2953.37 of the Revised Code requesting the expungement of the record of conviction. If a person is convicted of, was convicted of, pleads guilty to, or has pleaded guilty to a violation of division (B) or (C) of this section as the division existed prior to September 30, 2011, and if the conduct that was the basis of the violation no longer would be a violation of division (B) or (C) of this section on or after September 30, 2011, due to the application of division (F)(5) of this section as it exists on and after September 30, 2011, the person may file an application under section 2953.37 of the Revised Code requesting the expungement of the record of conviction.

(b) The attorney general shall develop a public media advisory that summarizes the expungement procedure established under section 2953.37 of the Revised Code and the offenders identified in division (H)(2)(a) of this section who are authorized to apply for the expungement. Within thirty days after September 30, 2011, the attorney general shall provide a copy of the advisory to each daily newspaper published in this state and each television station that broadcasts in this state. The attorney general may provide the advisory in a tangible form, an electronic form, or in both tangible and electronic forms.

(I) Whoever violates this section is guilty of improperly handling firearms in a motor vehicle. Violation of division (A) of this section is a felony of the fourth degree. Violation of division (C) of this section is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. A violation of division (D) of this section is a felony of the fifth degree or, if the loaded handgun is concealed on the person's person, a felony of the fourth degree. Except as otherwise provided in this division, a violation of division (E)(1) or (2) of this section is a misdemeanor of the first degree, and, in addition to any other penalty or sanction imposed for the violation, the offender's concealed handgun license shall be suspended pursuant to division (A)(2) of section 2923.128 of the Revised Code. If at the time of the stop of the offender for a traffic stop, for another law enforcement purpose, or for a purpose defined in section 5503.34 of the Revised Code that was the basis of the violation any law enforcement officer involved with the stop or the employee of the motor carrier enforcement unit who made the stop had actual knowledge of the offender's status as a licensee, a violation of division (E)(1) or (2) of this section is a minor misdemeanor, and the offender's concealed handgun license shall not be suspended pursuant to division (A)(2) of section 2923.128 of the Revised Code. A violation of division (E)(4) of this section is a felony of the fifth degree. A violation of division (E)(3) or (5) of this section is a misdemeanor of the first degree or, if the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a violation of division (E)(3) or (5) of this section, a felony of the fifth degree. In addition to any other penalty or sanction imposed for a misdemeanor violation of division (E)(3) or (5) of this section, the offender's concealed handgun license shall be suspended pursuant to division (A)(2) of section 2923.128 of the Revised Code. A violation of division (B) of this section is a felony of the fourth degree.

(J) If a law enforcement officer stops a motor vehicle for a traffic stop or any other purpose, if any person in the motor vehicle surrenders a firearm to the officer, either voluntarily or pursuant to a request or demand of the officer, and if the officer does not charge the person with a violation of this section or arrest the person for any offense, the person is not otherwise prohibited by law from possessing the firearm, and the firearm is not contraband, the officer shall return the firearm to the person at the termination of the stop. If a court orders a law enforcement officer to return a firearm to a person pursuant to the requirement set forth in this division, division (B) of section 2923.163 of the Revised Code applies.

Cities in :

Zip Codes in :