Limited Clients. Proven Results.

The Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys at Stiefvater Law have established themselves as the “go to” defense team for domestic violence charges in Rittman, Ohio. By limiting the number of clients we serve, Stiefvater Law can dedicate the time and resources needed to successfully defend your Rittman domestic violence charge.

Licensed to practice law in Ohio since 2003, Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Robert Stiefvater has a proven track record of successfully defending Rittman domestic violence cases.  Call and speak with Robert about your case.  Even if our Domestic Violence Defense Law Firm is not currently accepting new cases, Robert will discuss your case with you and give you a better understanding of the steps you need to take to protect yourself from a domestic violence conviction.

Ohio law defines Domestic Violence as:

  1. No person shall knowingly cause or attempt to cause physical harm to a family or household member.
  2. No person shall recklessly cause serious physical harm to a family or household member.
  3. No person, by threat of force, shall knowingly cause a family or household member to believe that the offender will cause imminent physical harm to the family or household member.

Domestic Violence Penalties

A conviction of domestic violence in Rittman, or anywhere in Ohio, has serious penalties.  Domestic violence can be a misdemeanor or a felony.  A conviction for domestic violence cannot be expunged.  Subsequent domestic violence convictions have increased penalties.  Penalties range from misdemeanor sentences to felony sentences with mandatory prison time.  For example, conviction of a:

Third Degree Misdemeanor Domestic Violence

Jail sentence up to 60 days and a fine up to $500.

Besides the criminal penalties for conviction of domestic violence, there are other serious considerations.  These are not limited to, but include:

  1. You will not be able to purchase a firearm.
  2. You will lose or be prevented from obtaining a concealed carry permit.
  3. Your employer may have grounds to terminate your employment.
  4. You may lose security clearance.
  5. You may lose your professional license: nursing, teacher, doctor, etc.

Contact a Domestic Violence Lawyer in Rittman today to understand the penalties you are facing and to find out what we can do for you.

Temporary Protection Order

Just being charged with a Rittman domestic violence will result in the issuance of a temporary protection order or TPO. A temporary protection order can restrict:

  1. Where you live.
  2. Who you can communicate with.
  3. Who you can be around.

While the temporary protection order is often a condition of bond in the criminal case, the alleged victim often files for a civil protection order as well.  Our Domestic Violence Defense Attorneys can defend the civil protection order hearing as well. Temporary Protection Orders terminate at the conclusion of the criminal case.  A civil protection order can be in place for up to 5 years.

Similar to all areas of the law, Ohio’s domestic violence laws use some special definitions.  For Example:

Family or household member can mean the natural parent of any child of whom the offender is the other natural parent or is the putative other natural parent.

Call the Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers at Stiefvater Law to find out if we are currently taking on new clients. We are the Domestic Violence Attorneys in Rittman, Ohio, 44270.

Ohio Revised Code Section 2919.25 governs Domestic Violence. The following is an excerpt from that law:

Penalties

(1) Whoever violates this section is guilty of domestic violence, and the court shall sentence the offender as provided in divisions (D)(2) to (6) of this section.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in divisions (D)(3) to (5) of this section, a violation of division (C) of this section is a misdemeanor of the fourth degree, and a violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(3) Except as otherwise provided in division (D)(4) of this section, if the offender previously has pleaded guilty to or been convicted of domestic violence, a violation of an existing or former municipal ordinance or law of this or any other state or the United States that is substantially similar to domestic violence, a violation of section 2903.14, 2909.06, 2909.07, 2911.12, 2911.211, or 2919.22 of the Revised Code if the victim of the violation was a family or household member at the time of the violation, a violation of an existing or former municipal ordinance or law of this or any other state or the United States that is substantially similar to any of those sections if the victim of the violation was a family or household member at the time of the commission of the violation, or any offense of violence if the victim of the offense was a family or household member at the time of the commission of the offense, a violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the fourth degree, and, if the offender knew that the victim of the violation was pregnant at the time of the violation, the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender pursuant to division (D)(6) of this section, and a violation of division (C) of this section is a misdemeanor of the second degree.

(4) If the offender previously has pleaded guilty to or been convicted of two or more offenses of domestic violence or two or more violations or offenses of the type described in division (D)(3) of this section involving a person who was a family or household member at the time of the violations or offenses, a violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the third degree, and, if the offender knew that the victim of the violation was pregnant at the time of the violation, the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender pursuant to division (D)(6) of this section, and a violation of division (C) of this section is a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(5) Except as otherwise provided in division (D)(3) or (4) of this section, if the offender knew that the victim of the violation was pregnant at the time of the violation, a violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the fifth degree, and the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender pursuant to division (D)(6) of this section, and a violation of division (C) of this section is a misdemeanor of the third degree.

(6) If division (D)(3), (4), or (5) of this section requires the court that sentences an offender for a violation of division (A) or (B) of this section to impose a mandatory prison term on the offender pursuant to this division, the court shall impose the mandatory prison term as follows:

(a) If the violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the fourth or fifth degree, except as otherwise provided in division (D)(6)(b) or (c) of this section, the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender of at least six months.

(b) If the violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the fifth degree and the offender, in committing the violation, caused serious physical harm to the pregnant woman's unborn or caused the termination of the pregnant woman's pregnancy, the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender of twelve months.

(c) If the violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the fourth degree and the offender, in committing the violation, caused serious physical harm to the pregnant woman's unborn or caused the termination of the pregnant woman's pregnancy, the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender of at least twelve months.

(d) If the violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the third degree, except as otherwise provided in division (D)(6)(e) of this section and notwithstanding the range of prison terms prescribed in section 2929.14 of the Revised Code for a felony of the third degree, the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender of either a definite term of six months or one of the prison terms prescribed in section 2929.14 of the Revised Code for felonies of the third degree.

(e) If the violation of division (A) or (B) of this section is a felony of the third degree and the offender, in committing the violation, caused serious physical harm to the pregnant woman's unborn or caused the termination of the pregnant woman's pregnancy, notwithstanding the range of prison terms prescribed in section 2929.14 of the Revised Code for a felony of the third degree, the court shall impose a mandatory prison term on the offender of either a definite term of one year or one of the prison terms prescribed in section 2929.14 of the Revised Code for felonies of the third degree.

Cities in Medina County: Chippewa Lake, Chatham, Brunswick, Brunswick Hills, Canaan

Zip Codes in Rittman, Ohio: 44270, 44273, 44276